+0
Karma
| Class: | JOUR 3700 - HON INTRO TO TELECOM |
| Subject: | JOURNALISM |
| University: | Georgia State University |
| Term: | Spring 2011 |
INCORRECT
CORRECT

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Ownership in the National Market for Radio
|
FCC licenses / unlimited stations |
|
Ownership in the National Market for B/Cast TV Stations
|
FCC licenses / Capped at 39% of households |
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Ownership in the National Market for Cable Systems
|
Franchised locally / capped at 30% of households |
|
Ownership within a given market for Radio
|
Capped at 8 stations in a large market. And only 5 per dial - so if 8 total - only 5 could be FM or AM - the other 3 would be on the other side of the dial. |
Koofers.com
|
Ownership within a given market for B/Cast tv stations
|
Capped at a maximum of 3 stations in a large market |
|
Ownership within a given market for Cable Systems
|
No caps - unlimited number of systems can exist in a given market |
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Cross-ownership
|
It used to be that a newspaper and tv station or radio station in a given market could NOT be owned by the same company - now it is allowed, but the Telecomm Act of 1996 did deem that this issue needed to be revisited every so often. |
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Staffing for Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable Systems
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Radio: small staff. B/Cast TV stations: large staff. Cable Systems: largest staff. |
Koofers.com
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Primary Revenue for Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable Systems
|
Radio: local ads. B/Cast TV Stations: local ads. Cable Systems: subscription fees and churn fees (churn fees = disconnection fees, connection fees, etc. |
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Profit for Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable Systems
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Radio: Loss to 50% profit margin (so half of the revenue is profit). B/Cast TV Stations: 12% to 50% profit margin. Cable Systems: varies with system maturity. |
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Traffic Controller in Radio
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In charge of scheduling ads, songs, promos, etc. |
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Networks: Types of Programming for
Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable
|
Radio Networks: News. B/Cast Networks: Entertainment & News. Cable Networks: Specialized programming: i.e. The Weather Channel, ESPN, etc. |
Koofers.com
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Networks: Primary Revenue for Radio, B/Cast, Cable
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Radio: Nat'l Ads. B/Cast: Nat'l Ads. Cable: Subscription fees + Nat'l ads |
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Network: Affiliates for Radio, B/Cast, Cable
(Also: "Clearance Fee" and "Pre-emption")
|
Radio: Non-exclusive - multiple stations may have network affiliation in a given market. B/Cast: exclusive - i.e. Channel 5 = FOX. They pay Fox "Clearance fees" for the right to play a program. Although they can chose to exercise pre-emption: where they affiliate chooses to show their own local programming. Cable Network: Non-exclusive or several network channels can exist on one system |
|
Network Restrictions enforced by the FCC: B/Cast
(PTAR)
|
"Prime Time Access Rule" are enforced by the FCC to restrict networks from airing too much content in the prime time hours - they set it up so that the "access hour" could be left for the local affiliates to program - what resulted, however, was stations found it cheaper to leave the access hour to syndicated. |
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Syndex
|
Syndication exclusivity (also known as syndex) is a federal law in the United States designed to protect a local television station's rights to syndicated television programs by granting exclusive rights to the station for that program in the local market, usually defined by a station's Nielsen DMA. |
Koofers.com
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Vertical Integration
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Program ownership + production + distribution ex: Comcast owns part of NBC now |
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Network Advertising
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Advertising sold to a national company ex: seeing a Petco ad on HGTV |
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National Spot
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When a national company advertises on a local station... ex: Nike advertising on V103 |
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Local Advertising
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Local ads sold to local companies. |
Koofers.com
|
National Spot Sales
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National Spot Sales Firms work exclusively w/ a station in a given market to seek out high $$ advertising (nat'l spots). National Spot Sales Reps - may only represent 1 station in a market or a group of stations owned by the same company. Only operate in top 10 markets. |
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Ad Agencies
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For nat'l and regional companies - they act as the middle man between the station and the company - might produce the commercial depending on the contract. |
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Breakdown of Advertising
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Company may employ an ad agency which filters through a media buyer who sells to the National Spot Sales Rep Firm who represents the station. |
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Factors that Influence Ad Rates
(5 Factors)
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Audience size, dayparts, length of ad, # of spots, spot position |
Koofers.com
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Radio Dayparts
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AM and PM Drive-time |
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TV Dayparts
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TV - primetime, access hour - hour before prime time. Early and late-fringe. |
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Early Fringe
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4 to 7pm est. |
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Late Fringe
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After 11pm est. |
Koofers.com
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Volume Discount
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30 second spot won't necessarily be double the 15 second spot. |
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# of Spots
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More spots you buy the better the value. |
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Spot Position: ROS
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Run of schedule: when the traffic scheduler wants to air spot |
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Spot Position: Fixed
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Spot is chosen by the advertiser |
Koofers.com
|
Spot Position: Primacy
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1st commercial to air leading into a pod |
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Pod
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= entire break |
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Avails
|
spots available |
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Spot Position: Recency
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Last spot to air in a pod |
Koofers.com
|
Spot Position: Bookend
|
Front and back of pod - sort of a lead into commercials and a lead out of commercials |
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Non-preemtibility
|
Advertiser must pay extra $$ to get this insurance policy - it says that if an ad didn't run when it was supposed to - it will air at the next possible time. - Also ensures that the make-good will happen at a better time. |
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"Make Good"
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When a station does a "make good" and airs a commercial that didn't air on time. |
|
Special Sponsorship
|
Advertiser pays extra $$ to sponsor something like an event or part of an event. - i.e. Lexus Halftime Show - usually involves exclusivity as well. |
Koofers.com
|
"Mention"
|
When a dj actually says the sponsors name/ often times the contract will say exactly how many times the include the sponsors name in a given time frame. |
|
Time-Brokering
|
Infomercials and/or religious programming |
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PI (Ads)
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"Per inquiry" = commercials where they ask ppl to phone in and the money will go to the station based on how many ppl say they heard or saw the ad on your station. |
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Co-Op Advertising
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Cooperative agreement between a national company and its franchise where the advertising is shared between the national company and the local company. ex: Ace Hardware employs John Madden for national ads and - then a cheap local logo closes the ad. |
Koofers.com
|
Tradeout
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airtime going to a company for something they provided - no $$ exchanges hands - i.e. a local car company donates vans to a radio station in exchange for ads |
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Network Advertising - "Upfront" Season
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Advertising pegged to when the fall season shows are announced - so ads purchased in the upfront season (May/April) when the new shows are announced. Successful upfront season would mean 70% of ads sold. |
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Scatter Period in advertising
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the time after the upfront period until the show airs - hopefully 20% of the remainder of ads sold. |
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Opportunistic Period in Advertising
|
When everything else is sold. |
Koofers.com
|
CPM
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Cost per thousand (M = roman numeral for thousand) - used to compare ad rates regardless of medium - radio ads, commercials on tv. |
|
Equation used for CPM
|
Cost of Ad divided by (audience size/1000) So if cost #1 is $24 and the audience size is 8000/1000 then the CPM is 24/8 = $3. Cost #2 is $18 and the audience size is 3000/1000 then the CPM is 18/3 = $6. So cost 1 is more but the value is greater. |
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Larges Revenue Category for each Medium
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Radio = Local Ad. Cable System= Network. B/Cast Tv = evenly divided. |
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Internet Ad: Banner
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Up top/ horizontal |
Koofers.com
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Internet Ad: Skyscraper
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Vertical - usually to the side and near the scroll bar so that it may be accidentally |
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CTR
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Click through rate: the small % of ppl who actually click on the ad |
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PopUp Ad
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Opens on top of the page you are on. |
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PopUnder Ad
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Opens under your browser where you most likely won't even notice |
Koofers.com
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Cookies
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Attached to the sites and download information about what you are doing on the internet to focus the advertising |
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CPC
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Cost per click - also price per click - when advertiser pays based on CTR |
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Search Engines: Google
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Bidding process determines your ads placement on the ad side. You bid on words for higher placement of ad on list |
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Conversion (or Action per click)
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Conversion from viewer of ad to actual purchaser of item(s) - "conversion" to customer. |
Koofers.com
|
Advergaming
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Advergaming (a portmanteau of "advertising" and "gaming") is the practice of using video games to advertise a product, organization or viewpoint. ex: billboard on racing game |
|
Swivel Potatoes
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nickname for ppl who are online and watching the tv at the same time - research around this led to the notion that when ads run you are going online |
|
Ad-Voidance: Flip
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Changing the channel to find a channel that doesn't have ads on |
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Ad-Voidance: Zip
|
Fast forwarding through commercials when a program is recorded and replayed |
Koofers.com
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Ad-Voidance: Zap
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Recording a show to stop recording when commercials start. Tivo can be set to do this |
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Ad-Voidance: DVR
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digital video recorder |
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Attempts to defeat Advoidance
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Product placement, change traffic to keep spots from airing when other channels air spots - ex: The Weather Channels - local on the 8s. |
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Content of the Spot Mimics Show
|
ex: bball game showing a commercial w/ ppl playing bball. |
Koofers.com
|
Production Techniques: Logo
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Image appears even though you are fast forwarding |
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Monochrome Imagery
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B&W image causes you to stop and see what is going on |
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Image Fast Forwards
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Fast motion commercials that can be seen the same whether fast or slow |
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No B&W between program...
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Attempts to throw off zapping by having no B&W between the program and the ad |
Koofers.com
|
Regulation: FCC
|
License revocation or non-renewal for fraudulent billing practices - ex: Radio station billed for 100 spots and only airs 95 |
|
FTC
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Federal trade commission - test what ppl put in ads for accuracy - and go after them if it isn't |
|
Stipulation Letter
|
Warning letter of sorts distributed by the FTC - warning company that they will be taken to court if they don't heed the warnings |
|
Consent Order
|
Says the FTC will stop pursing the issue and advertiser will stop displaying falsehood - judge will sign and if the advertiser doesn't hold up their end of the bargain - the punishment will be much more severe |
Koofers.com
|
Ceast and Desist Order
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Judge says the advertiser must stop saying whatever you are saying in the ad. |
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Big Cases of Advertisers being stopped...
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1971: Cigarette/Little Cigars. 1986: Smokeless tobacco banned by act of congress |
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1992: Children's Ads
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Required to be no more than 12 minutes a weekday and 10.5 minutes on weekends. Also must have a billboard going in and out of commercials to differentiate between commercials and show. |
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Advertising Industry Self-Restraints
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Standards & Practices: deem whether an ad is appropriate and when to air - maybe at night b/c of content |
Koofers.com
|
Time Limits
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they will restrict how many spots they run so they can create a false sense of scarcity |
|
Non-Commercial
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Originally labeled educational - poor equipment - poorly paid ppl - usually this results to quality lacking |
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Ford Foundation
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Helped non-comm up until 1966 - and arguably kept it alive |
|
NET
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National Educational TV - - 1st network but bicycling service between cities to schools |
Koofers.com
|
Public Broadcasting Act of 1966
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take the carnagie report basically word for word - an attempt to improve broadcasting - so group is created to make recommendations to government based on what ppl want |
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Corp. for Public Broadcasting
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Take ppls ideas and helps finance them for things like documentaries |
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NPR
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NPR, formerly National Public Radio, is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that serves as a national syndicator to 797 public radio stations in the United States of America. Independent since 1971 - but still asks for help with certain productions |
|
PBS
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The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an American non-profit public broadcasting television service with 354 member TV stations in the United States which hold collective ownership. They still have to get approval for shows. |
Koofers.com
|
NPR Affiliates
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Charge non-comm stations...Pay per coverage per coverage area - so Atlanta more than Macon. Have to be on air a minimum of 18 hours and have to have a full-time studio and 2 studios. |
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3 Basic Problems with PBS/NPR
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1) Money: survive primarily on $$ from donors/telethons. 2) Politics: issue of whether government money should exist in b/casting. 3) Programming: not cheap to produce and often lacking in quality |
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Underwriters
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Donors to PBS/NPR called underwriters - the Public Broadcasting Act of 1966 deemed that underwriters couldn't say certain things - like Coke is better than Pepsi. |
Koofers.com
Front |
Back |
|
|---|---|---|
| Ownership in the National Market for Radio | FCC licenses / unlimited stations | |
| Ownership in the National Market for B/Cast TV Stations | FCC licenses / Capped at 39% of households | |
| Ownership in the National Market for Cable Systems | Franchised locally / capped at 30% of households | |
| Ownership within a given market for Radio | Capped at 8 stations in a large market. And only 5 per dial - so if 8 total - only 5 could be FM or AM - the other 3 would be on the other side of the dial. | |
| Ownership within a given market for B/Cast tv stations | Capped at a maximum of 3 stations in a large market | |
| Ownership within a given market for Cable Systems | No caps - unlimited number of systems can exist in a given market | |
| Cross-ownership | It used to be that a newspaper and tv station or radio station in a given market could NOT be owned by the same company - now it is allowed, but the Telecomm Act of 1996 did deem that this issue needed to be revisited every so often. | |
| Staffing for Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable Systems | Radio: small staff. B/Cast TV stations: large staff. Cable Systems: largest staff. | |
| Primary Revenue for Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable Systems | Radio: local ads. B/Cast TV Stations: local ads. Cable Systems: subscription fees and churn fees (churn fees = disconnection fees, connection fees, etc. | |
| Profit for Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable Systems | Radio: Loss to 50% profit margin (so half of the revenue is profit). B/Cast TV Stations: 12% to 50% profit margin. Cable Systems: varies with system maturity. | |
| Traffic Controller in Radio | In charge of scheduling ads, songs, promos, etc. | |
| Networks: Types of Programming for Radio, B/Cast TV, and Cable | Radio Networks: News. B/Cast Networks: Entertainment & News. Cable Networks: Specialized programming: i.e. The Weather Channel, ESPN, etc. | |
| Networks: Primary Revenue for Radio, B/Cast, Cable | Radio: Nat'l Ads. B/Cast: Nat'l Ads. Cable: Subscription fees + Nat'l ads | |
| Network: Affiliates for Radio, B/Cast, Cable (Also: "Clearance Fee" and "Pre-emption") | Radio: Non-exclusive - multiple stations may have network affiliation in a given market. B/Cast: exclusive - i.e. Channel 5 = FOX. They pay Fox "Clearance fees" for the right to play a program. Although they can chose to exercise pre-emption: where they affiliate chooses to show their own local programming. Cable Network: Non-exclusive or several network channels can exist on one system | |
| Network Restrictions enforced by the FCC: B/Cast (PTAR) | "Prime Time Access Rule" are enforced by the FCC to restrict networks from airing too much content in the prime time hours - they set it up so that the "access hour" could be left for the local affiliates to program - what resulted, however, was stations found it cheaper to leave the access hour to syndicated. | |
| Syndex | Syndication exclusivity (also known as syndex) is a federal law in the United States designed to protect a local television station's rights to syndicated television programs by granting exclusive rights to the station for that program in the local market, usually defined by a station's Nielsen DMA. | |
| Vertical Integration | Program ownership + production + distribution ex: Comcast owns part of NBC now | |
| Network Advertising | Advertising sold to a national company ex: seeing a Petco ad on HGTV | |
| National Spot | When a national company advertises on a local station... ex: Nike advertising on V103 | |
| Local Advertising | Local ads sold to local companies. | |
| National Spot Sales | National Spot Sales Firms work exclusively w/ a station in a given market to seek out high $$ advertising (nat'l spots). National Spot Sales Reps - may only represent 1 station in a market or a group of stations owned by the same company. Only operate in top 10 markets. | |
| Ad Agencies | For nat'l and regional companies - they act as the middle man between the station and the company - might produce the commercial depending on the contract. | |
| Breakdown of Advertising | Company may employ an ad agency which filters through a media buyer who sells to the National Spot Sales Rep Firm who represents the station. | |
| Factors that Influence Ad Rates (5 Factors) | Audience size, dayparts, length of ad, # of spots, spot position | |
| Radio Dayparts | AM and PM Drive-time | |
| TV Dayparts | TV - primetime, access hour - hour before prime time. Early and late-fringe. | |
| Early Fringe | 4 to 7pm est. | |
| Late Fringe | After 11pm est. | |
| Volume Discount | 30 second spot won't necessarily be double the 15 second spot. | |
| # of Spots | More spots you buy the better the value. | |
| Spot Position: ROS | Run of schedule: when the traffic scheduler wants to air spot | |
| Spot Position: Fixed | Spot is chosen by the advertiser | |
| Spot Position: Primacy | 1st commercial to air leading into a pod | |
| Pod | = entire break | |
| Avails | spots available | |
| Spot Position: Recency | Last spot to air in a pod | |
| Spot Position: Bookend | Front and back of pod - sort of a lead into commercials and a lead out of commercials | |
| Non-preemtibility | Advertiser must pay extra $$ to get this insurance policy - it says that if an ad didn't run when it was supposed to - it will air at the next possible time. - Also ensures that the make-good will happen at a better time. | |
| "Make Good" | When a station does a "make good" and airs a commercial that didn't air on time. | |
| Special Sponsorship | Advertiser pays extra $$ to sponsor something like an event or part of an event. - i.e. Lexus Halftime Show - usually involves exclusivity as well. | |
| "Mention" | When a dj actually says the sponsors name/ often times the contract will say exactly how many times the include the sponsors name in a given time frame. | |
| Time-Brokering | Infomercials and/or religious programming | |
| PI (Ads) | "Per inquiry" = commercials where they ask ppl to phone in and the money will go to the station based on how many ppl say they heard or saw the ad on your station. | |
| Co-Op Advertising | Cooperative agreement between a national company and its franchise where the advertising is shared between the national company and the local company. ex: Ace Hardware employs John Madden for national ads and - then a cheap local logo closes the ad. | |
| Tradeout | airtime going to a company for something they provided - no $$ exchanges hands - i.e. a local car company donates vans to a radio station in exchange for ads | |
| Network Advertising - "Upfront" Season | Advertising pegged to when the fall season shows are announced - so ads purchased in the upfront season (May/April) when the new shows are announced. Successful upfront season would mean 70% of ads sold. | |
| Scatter Period in advertising | the time after the upfront period until the show airs - hopefully 20% of the remainder of ads sold. | |
| Opportunistic Period in Advertising | When everything else is sold. | |
| CPM | Cost per thousand (M = roman numeral for thousand) - used to compare ad rates regardless of medium - radio ads, commercials on tv. | |
| Equation used for CPM | Cost of Ad divided by (audience size/1000) So if cost #1 is $24 and the audience size is 8000/1000 then the CPM is 24/8 = $3. Cost #2 is $18 and the audience size is 3000/1000 then the CPM is 18/3 = $6. So cost 1 is more but the value is greater. | |
| Larges Revenue Category for each Medium | Radio = Local Ad. Cable System= Network. B/Cast Tv = evenly divided. | |
| Internet Ad: Banner | Up top/ horizontal | |
| Internet Ad: Skyscraper | Vertical - usually to the side and near the scroll bar so that it may be accidentally | |
| CTR | Click through rate: the small % of ppl who actually click on the ad | |
| PopUp Ad | Opens on top of the page you are on. | |
| PopUnder Ad | Opens under your browser where you most likely won't even notice | |
| Cookies | Attached to the sites and download information about what you are doing on the internet to focus the advertising | |
| CPC | Cost per click - also price per click - when advertiser pays based on CTR | |
| Search Engines: Google | Bidding process determines your ads placement on the ad side. You bid on words for higher placement of ad on list | |
| Conversion (or Action per click) | Conversion from viewer of ad to actual purchaser of item(s) - "conversion" to customer. | |
| Advergaming | Advergaming (a portmanteau of "advertising" and "gaming") is the practice of using video games to advertise a product, organization or viewpoint. ex: billboard on racing game | |
| Swivel Potatoes | nickname for ppl who are online and watching the tv at the same time - research around this led to the notion that when ads run you are going online | |
| Ad-Voidance: Flip | Changing the channel to find a channel that doesn't have ads on | |
| Ad-Voidance: Zip | Fast forwarding through commercials when a program is recorded and replayed | |
| Ad-Voidance: Zap | Recording a show to stop recording when commercials start. Tivo can be set to do this | |
| Ad-Voidance: DVR | digital video recorder | |
| Attempts to defeat Advoidance | Product placement, change traffic to keep spots from airing when other channels air spots - ex: The Weather Channels - local on the 8s. | |
| Content of the Spot Mimics Show | ex: bball game showing a commercial w/ ppl playing bball. | |
| Production Techniques: Logo | Image appears even though you are fast forwarding | |
| Monochrome Imagery | B&W image causes you to stop and see what is going on | |
| Image Fast Forwards | Fast motion commercials that can be seen the same whether fast or slow | |
| No B&W between program... | Attempts to throw off zapping by having no B&W between the program and the ad | |
| Regulation: FCC | License revocation or non-renewal for fraudulent billing practices - ex: Radio station billed for 100 spots and only airs 95 | |
| FTC | Federal trade commission - test what ppl put in ads for accuracy - and go after them if it isn't | |
| Stipulation Letter | Warning letter of sorts distributed by the FTC - warning company that they will be taken to court if they don't heed the warnings | |
| Consent Order | Says the FTC will stop pursing the issue and advertiser will stop displaying falsehood - judge will sign and if the advertiser doesn't hold up their end of the bargain - the punishment will be much more severe | |
| Ceast and Desist Order | Judge says the advertiser must stop saying whatever you are saying in the ad. | |
| Big Cases of Advertisers being stopped... | 1971: Cigarette/Little Cigars. 1986: Smokeless tobacco banned by act of congress | |
| 1992: Children's Ads | Required to be no more than 12 minutes a weekday and 10.5 minutes on weekends. Also must have a billboard going in and out of commercials to differentiate between commercials and show. | |
| Advertising Industry Self-Restraints | Standards & Practices: deem whether an ad is appropriate and when to air - maybe at night b/c of content | |
| Time Limits | they will restrict how many spots they run so they can create a false sense of scarcity | |
| Non-Commercial | Originally labeled educational - poor equipment - poorly paid ppl - usually this results to quality lacking | |
| Ford Foundation | Helped non-comm up until 1966 - and arguably kept it alive | |
| NET | National Educational TV - - 1st network but bicycling service between cities to schools | |
| Public Broadcasting Act of 1966 | take the carnagie report basically word for word - an attempt to improve broadcasting - so group is created to make recommendations to government based on what ppl want | |
| Corp. for Public Broadcasting | Take ppls ideas and helps finance them for things like documentaries | |
| NPR | NPR, formerly National Public Radio, is a privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that serves as a national syndicator to 797 public radio stations in the United States of America. Independent since 1971 - but still asks for help with certain productions | |
| PBS | The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an American non-profit public broadcasting television service with 354 member TV stations in the United States which hold collective ownership. They still have to get approval for shows. | |
| NPR Affiliates | Charge non-comm stations...Pay per coverage per coverage area - so Atlanta more than Macon. Have to be on air a minimum of 18 hours and have to have a full-time studio and 2 studios. | |
| 3 Basic Problems with PBS/NPR | 1) Money: survive primarily on $$ from donors/telethons. 2) Politics: issue of whether government money should exist in b/casting. 3) Programming: not cheap to produce and often lacking in quality | |
| Underwriters | Donors to PBS/NPR called underwriters - the Public Broadcasting Act of 1966 deemed that underwriters couldn't say certain things - like Coke is better than Pepsi. |
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